Introduction

Located in Shangyu which enjoys the reputation of “the cradle of celadon” , Shangyu Celadon Modern International Ceramic Art Center is a nonprofit academic institution co-established by Shangyu District People’s Government of Shaoxing, Zhejiang and Academy of Art and Design of Tsinghua University. The Center guided by the famous artist Mr. Bai Ming as the Director, is the first institution in China specialized in providing service to both domestic and international ceramists and artists for their free creations and communication. The Center will keep record of the precious first-hand materials of creation concepts, techniques and firing processes adopted by famous ceramists and artists invited to the Center so as to facilitate future academic research.


Shangyu, situated at the southern bank of Hangzhou Bay in northeastern Zhejiang Province, has bred the world’s earliest porcelain wares along the banks of the Cao’e River, and given birth to the mature celadon in late Eastern Han Dynasty. In the following five hundred years after the birth of celadon technology, with its unique celadon manufacturing technology, Shangyu became the famous ceramic production area known as Yueyao Kiln in ancient China, which exerts great influences on Longquan Kiln, Yaozhou Kiln, Dingyao Kiln, Ruyao Kiln, Jingdezhen Kiln in China, and on koryo celadon in South Korea and North Korea. According to archaeological investigations, there are about 400 ancient kiln sites found in Shangyu, among them, Jinshan Mountain Kiln Site was listed into “one of the National Top Ten New Archaeological Discoveries” in 2014.


Academy of Art and Design of Tsinghua University is the top art college in China. Its predecessor, Central Academy of Art and Crafts, was approved and founded by the State Council in 1956. The Ceramic Department is one of the three earliest majors established in the Academy of Art and Design, and possesses a complete teaching system and first-class teaching staff. At the beginning of 2015, led by Mr. Bai Ming, Director of Ceramic Department, Academy of Art and Design of Tsinghua University and Shangyu District People’s Government of Shaoxing, Shangyu Celadon Modern International Ceramic Art Center was established. The Center is committed to promoting the exchanges and research among ceramists at home and abroad, the development of modern ceramic art innovation and social promotion, and building the international well-known modern ceramic art center.

简介introduction

 

     上虞青·现代国际陶艺中心座落于素有“青瓷之源”美誉的上虞,是由浙江省绍兴市上虞区人民政府与清华大学美术学院合作共建的中国第一个专门服务于中外陶艺家和艺术家自由创作与交流的公益性学术机构,由著名艺术家白明先生兼任主任,主持中心工作。该中心聘请世界著名陶艺家及中国著名艺术家入驻创作,记录所有艺术家的创作理念、创作技法及烧成等全部创作过程,并且收藏现代陶艺作品。为中国现代陶艺的创作留下第一手珍贵的资料,以利于开展学术梳理和研究。



      上虞地处浙江省东北部的杭州湾南岸,在这里的曹娥江畔孕育了世界上最早的瓷器,并在东汉晚期诞生了成熟的青瓷。在青瓷技术诞生之后的五百年中,上虞地区凭借着独特的青瓷制造工艺成为古代中国有名的陶瓷产区,又称作——越窑。越窑对中国的龙泉窑、耀州窑、定窑、汝窑、景德镇窑以及韩国、朝鲜的高丽青瓷等诸多窑系产生了重要影响。据考古调查,上虞境内发现各类古窑址近400处,其中,“禁山窑址”入选2014年度“全国十大考古新发现”。



       清华大学美术学院是中国顶尖的艺术院校,前身是1956年由国务院批准创办的中央工艺美术学院。陶瓷系正是学院初创最早建立的三个专业之一,拥有完备的教学体系和一流的教师队伍。2015年初,由陶瓷系系主任白明牵头,与上虞区区政府合作成立了“上虞青·现代国际陶艺中心”,共同致力于促进国内外陶艺家的交流研究,推动现代陶艺创新发展和社会推广,力争打造国际知名的现代陶艺中心。